Pool Screen Mesh Types: Specifications, Opening Data, and Code Limits
Panama City Pool Screen Repair Research
Published: July 24, 2026 · Last verified: July 24, 2026 · Dataset version: 2026-07-24
Panama City Pool Screen Repair Research is the independent research and reference section of panamacitypoolscreenrepair.com.
Contents
What are the key pool screen mesh statistics?#
Pool screen mesh types are usually described in adjectives — durable, breathable, private. In Florida they are also a structural design input: Table 2002.4 of the current Florida Building Code, Building, 8th Edition (2023), applies its screen-surface pressures to 20 × 20 × 0.013-inch mesh, gives 18 × 14 × 0.013-inch mesh a 0.88 multiplier, and directs designers to use enclosed-building pressures for screen densities greater than the 20 × 20 × 0.013-inch baseline.
- 1.
Florida's design wind-pressure table for aluminum screen enclosures applies to 20 × 20 × 0.013-inch mesh and directs screen denser than that to be designed using pressures for enclosed buildings.
Florida Building Code, Building, 8th Edition (2023), Table 2002.4, note f; checked July 24, 2026.
- 2.
Standard 18 × 14 × 0.013-inch mesh receives a 0.88 multiplier on screen-surface pressures under the same code note, so the unadjusted 20 × 20 pressure is about 13.6 percent higher than the adjusted 18 × 14 pressure.
Panama City Pool Screen Repair Research calculation from Table 2002.4 note f, July 24, 2026.
- 3.
Across all 21 wind-speed-and-exposure entries in Table 2002.4, the table's vertical pressures on solid surfaces are 3.43 to 4.25 times its vertical pressures on screen surfaces.
Panama City Pool Screen Repair Research calculation from the published table, July 24, 2026.
- 4.
An 18 × 14 screen woven with 0.013-inch yarn has calculated nominal clear openings of 1.081 by 1.484 millimeters and a nominal geometric open area of 62.66 percent.
Calculated July 24, 2026 from Saint-Gobain ADFORS's published construction and yarn diameter.
- 5.
A 20 × 20 screen woven with the same 0.013-inch yarn has calculated nominal clear openings of 0.940 by 0.940 millimeter and a nominal geometric open area of 54.76 percent — 7.90 percentage points less than 18 × 14.
Calculated July 24, 2026 from ADFORS's published inputs.
- 6.
A 14 × 10 pet-resistant screen woven with 0.025-inch yarn has larger calculated openings — 1.179 by 1.905 millimeters — than 18 × 14 × 0.013-inch screen, even though each pet-screen yarn is nearly twice as thick.
Calculated July 24, 2026 from ADFORS's published inputs.
- 7.
Adult biting midges are typically 1.0 to 2.0 millimeters long, and the average length across the roughly 50 species occurring in Florida is about 1.5 millimeters.
UF/IFAS EENY-349 / IN626, revised September 2025; checked July 24, 2026.
- 8.
UF/IFAS states that regular window screens do not exclude biting midges, while the openings in no-see-um screening are small enough to exclude them.
UF/IFAS EENY-349 / IN626, revised September 2025; checked July 24, 2026.
- 9.
Biting-midge diversity in Florida is greatest in the northern half of the state, with tree-hole breeding species most common in the Panhandle and north-central Florida.
UF/IFAS EENY-349 / IN626, revised September 2025; checked July 24, 2026.
- 10.
Phifer's Expanded View pool-and-patio sheet lists a 3-year warranty on 18 × 14 Pool & Patio fiberglass and 10-year warranties on TuffScreen and TuffScreen No-See-Um.
Phifer V25 sheet dated May 2025; checked July 24, 2026.
- 11.
ADFORS publishes a 7-year limited warranty on P3, a 10-year limited warranty on Small Insect Ready Rolls, a 10-year limited warranty on P4, and no warranty field on its current Pool & Patio 18 × 14 page.
ADFORS current pages and June 2026 sell sheets; checked July 24, 2026.
- 12.
Super Screen's manufacturer-controlled 17/14 comparison reports strip-tensile values of 171.51 pounds-force warp and 162.29 fill against 78.8 and 54.2 for its conventional-fiberglass comparator; Phifer's separate 18 × 14 table reports 170 warp and 125 fill but states no units or method.
Both manufacturers' figures were checked July 24, 2026 and are not a neutral cross-brand comparison.
- 13.
Phifer states that the fiberglass core yarn in its 18 × 14 pool-and-patio screen is 50 percent stronger than the yarn used in its window screen.
Phifer screening FAQ and Phifer-vs.-Import sheet; checked July 24, 2026.
- 14.
Phifer's own comparison sheet reports an imported 18 × 14 screen as heavier than Phifer's — 5.4 against 4.6 — but lower in the sheet's strength fields, at 88 warp and 85 fill against 170 and 125; the sheet states no units or test method.
Phifer V25 sheet dated June 2025; checked July 24, 2026.
- 15.
Phifer publishes openness factors of approximately 35–45 percent for PetScreen, 25 percent for SunTex 80, and 10 percent for SunTex 90.
Phifer primary product sheets and pages; checked July 24, 2026.
- 16.
Two current ADFORS source conflicts remain visible in this dataset: Small Insect is called fiberglass and PVC-coated polyester on the same product page, while P3 is listed as 18 × 14 on its current page and 17 × 14 on ADFORS's June 2026 ONYX sell sheet.
Both conflicts were read directly from ADFORS sources on July 24, 2026.
Which pool screen mesh types appear in the 2026 dataset?#
The word "type" gets used for four variables at once: the fiber the yarn is made from, how many yarns are woven per inch in each direction, how thick each yarn is, and what the finished fabric is intended to do. A product can be a polyester type, a 17 × 20 type, a 0.025-inch-yarn type, and a pet-resistant type simultaneously.
Seven purpose categories cover the 20 products in this dataset. A pool cage does not have to use one category everywhere: ADFORS expressly describes specialty screens as a way to customize one enclosure, which supports a zoned specification when the enclosure design and product instructions allow it.
Table 1 — Pool screen mesh categories and what distinguishes them#
| Category | Typical verified construction | Published counts in this dataset | Purpose | Principal trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard pool and patio | Vinyl-coated fiberglass | 17 × 14, 18 × 14 | General insect screening and a relatively open view | Larger openings than the verified 20 × 20 fine-insect construction |
| Fine-insect / no-see-um | Fiberglass, coated synthetic mesh, or a source-conflicted construction | 17 × 20, 20 × 20 | Smaller openings for tiny insects | Less nominal open area when yarn diameter is held equal |
| Heavy-duty | Vinyl-coated polyester or polyester-fiberglass hybrid | 17 × 14, 17 × 20, and an official 17 × 14 / 18 × 14 conflict for P3 | Tear, puncture, high-contact, or wide-span use | Count alone does not disclose opening size or comparable strength |
| Pet-resistant | Heavy PVC-coated polyester | 14 × 10, 15 × 12 | Claw and contact resistance | Lower count plus thick yarn can create larger openings |
| High-visibility | Manufacturer-specific construction | Not published on the reviewed BetterVue page | Clearer outward view or greater published openness | Comparison percentages use the manufacturer's own baseline |
| Laminated privacy and debris | Laminated fiberglass | 18 × 14 for Phifer Glas-Shield; not published for ADFORS Florida Glass | Lower-panel privacy and debris control | Placement restrictions and enclosure-load treatment must be checked |
| Solar control | Vinyl-coated polyester or fiberglass | 20 × 30 for Phifer Solar Insect Screening; not published for SunTex 80/90 | Heat, glare, UV, and daytime privacy control | Published openness can be low, but code treatment depends on the actual construction rather than openness alone |
Sources: current primary product pages and manufacturer-hosted sheets from Phifer, Saint-Gobain ADFORS, and Super Screen. All were checked July 24, 2026. Full per-product sourcing appears in the specification dataset.
What do 18 × 14, 17 × 20, and 20 × 20 mean?#
The two numbers are yarn counts: how many yarns run in one direction by how many run in the other within one square inch. Phifer defines mesh count that way and separately explains that yarn diameter — which varies across its broader screening range from 0.008 to 0.030 inch — changes the resulting aperture, visibility, and openness.
Count alone does not establish hole size, material, strength, or airflow. A thicker yarn consumes more of the pitch between neighboring yarn centers, so two products with the same count can have different openings, and a lower-count pet screen can have larger openings than ordinary pool mesh.
Four variables people collapse into one
- Mesh count. Yarns per inch in each direction.
- Yarn diameter. The thickness of each yarn. It determines how much of each pitch remains open.
- Openness factor. A manufacturer-published percentage of open space in the finished fabric. The reviewed sources do not publish a common test method for every product.
- Airflow. Air movement or pressure drop through a specimen under defined conditions. This review found no directly comparable airflow dataset for the products below.
Why aperture is the insect-sized number
Phifer defines aperture as the square or rectangular opening in a woven screen, measured in square inches, and gives a broader product-range span of 0.0005 to 0.004 square inch. Aperture is the relevant geometric quantity when the question is whether the opening is physically smaller or larger; it is still not a laboratory insect-exclusion rating.
How big are the openings in each verified construction?#
Where a primary manufacturer source publishes both mesh count and one yarn diameter, nominal opening geometry is arithmetic. Six verified constructions meet that test in this source set; P3 does not, because current official sources conflict on its count and its two yarn diameters are not mapped to the two axes.
The headline result: at the same 0.013-inch yarn diameter, a 20 × 20 aperture is 44.94 percent smaller in area than an 18 × 14 aperture, while the calculated nominal geometric open area falls from 62.66 percent to 54.76 percent.
The formula
Nominal pitch in one direction = 1 ÷ yarns per inch
Nominal clear opening in one direction = pitch − yarn diameter
Nominal aperture area = clear opening (warp) × clear opening (fill)
Nominal geometric open area (%) = (1 − count₁ × diameter) × (1 − count₂ × diameter) × 100This is two-dimensional geometry from published nominal inputs. It is not measured airflow, manufacturer-tested openness, or a guaranteed insect-exclusion result; coating build-up at crossings, weave crimp, yarn deformation, installation tension, and manufacturing tolerance can change the finished opening.
Table 2 — Calculated nominal opening geometry#
| Published construction | Published yarn diameter | Nominal clear opening (in) | Nominal clear opening (mm) | Nominal aperture (sq in) | Nominal geometric open area | Verified products |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 18 × 14 | 0.013" | 0.0426 × 0.0584 | 1.081 × 1.484 | 0.00249 | 62.66% | ADFORS Pool & Patio; Phifer 18 × 14 Pool & Patio |
| 20 × 20 | 0.013" | 0.0370 × 0.0370 | 0.940 × 0.940 | 0.00137 | 54.76% | ADFORS Small Insect |
| 14 × 10 | 0.025" | 0.0464 × 0.0750 | 1.179 × 1.905 | 0.00348 | 48.75% | ADFORS Pet Resistant |
| 15 × 12 | 0.025" | 0.0417 × 0.0583 | 1.058 × 1.482 | 0.00243 | 43.75% | Super Screen Super Pet Guard |
| 17 × 14 | 0.017" | 0.0418 × 0.0544 | 1.062 × 1.382 | 0.00228 | 54.18% | ADFORS P4 |
| 17 × 20 | 0.017" | 0.0418 × 0.0330 | 1.062 × 0.838 | 0.00138 | 46.93% | ADFORS P4 |
Sources: published mesh counts and yarn diameters from Saint-Gobain ADFORS, Phifer, and Super Screen primary product pages and sheets, all checked July 24, 2026. Opening and open-area columns were calculated by Panama City Pool Screen Repair Research on July 24, 2026. Calculated columns are nominal geometry, not measurements.
Three findings that fall out of the arithmetic
One: the fine-insect construction makes the verified hole 44.94 percent smaller. Holding yarn diameter at 0.013 inch, moving from 18 × 14 to 20 × 20 takes nominal aperture from 0.00249 to 0.00137 square inch. Both 20 × 20 opening dimensions are below one millimeter.
Two: a pet-resistant construction can have bigger holes. ADFORS Pet Resistant is 14 × 10 with 0.025-inch yarn. Its calculated openings, 1.179 by 1.905 millimeters, are larger in both directions than 18 × 14 × 0.013-inch screen. Thick yarn and pet resistance do not make it a fine-insect mesh.
Three: one product family can publish two materially different geometries. ADFORS P4 uses the same 0.017-inch yarn in 17 × 14 and 17 × 20 constructions. The added fill-direction yarns reduce the calculated fill opening from 1.382 to 0.838 millimeter and the nominal geometric open area from 54.18 to 46.93 percent.
Why the calculation is useful — and where it stops
The formula is definition-based dimensional arithmetic, not a fitted model. Every result can be reproduced directly from the two published inputs, but no reviewed manufacturer source publishes a directly comparable measured-aperture or airflow result for the same six construction-and-yarn combinations.
Phifer treats aperture and openness as separate terms. This dataset does the same: nominal aperture and nominal geometric open area are calculated fields, while any manufacturer-published openness percentage remains a separate published field. The two must not be substituted for one another, and neither should be presented as measured airflow.
ADFORS P3 publishes two yarn diameters, 0.013 and 0.018 inch, without mapping them to the two weave directions. Its current product page states 18 × 14 while its June 2026 ONYX sheet states 17 × 14. P3 therefore receives no calculated opening row.
What specifications do current pool screen products publish?#
This dataset contains 20 current product records from three manufacturers. Every value in the visible tables comes from a current manufacturer page or a manufacturer-hosted sheet; secondary technical specifications were removed rather than carried forward as if they were verified.
Table 3 — Phifer pool, patio, pet, visibility, and solar products#
| Tier | Product | Material as published | Count | Yarn | Published test or technical fields | Warranty | Published limitation or claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ★ | 18 × 14 Pool & Patio | Vinyl-coated fiberglass | 18 × 14 | 0.013" | Phifer comparison sheet: weight 4.6; strength warp 170 / fill 125; no units or method stated | 3 yr | Traditional pool-and-patio choice; core yarn described as 50% stronger than window-screen yarn |
| ★ | 20 × 20 No-See-Um | Vinyl-coated fiberglass | 20 × 20 | — | — | — | Tightly woven mesh designed to stop most small insects while retaining ventilation and visibility |
| ★ | Glas-Shield | Vinyl-laminated fiberglass | 18 × 14 | — | — | — | Below chair rail or vertical walls; not roofing material and not for horizontal applications |
| ★ | TuffScreen | Heavy-duty vinyl-coated polyester | — | — | — | 10 yr | Phifer states that it is 3× stronger than standard fiberglass |
| ★ | TuffScreen No-See-Um | Tightly woven TuffScreen vinyl-coated polyester | — | — | — | 10 yr | Designed to stop most small insects and provide daytime privacy |
| ★ | PetScreen | Vinyl-coated polyester | — | — | Approximately 35–45% openness; approximately 55–65% UV blockage | — | Pet-resistant; intended for patios, porches, windows, and doors |
| ★ | BetterVue Pool & Patio | Not published on reviewed page | — | — | 100 mph FBC 100-95 wind-tunnel test; 1,200 hr QUV; 2,500 kJ Xenon Arc | — | Manufacturer reports 33% more insect protection, 10% more sunlight, and 15% more openness than its comparison baseline |
| ★ | SunTex 80 | 31% polyester / 69% vinyl on polyester | — | — | 12.9 oz/yd²; 0.032" thick; approx. 25% openness; approx. 75% UV blockage; breaking strength 269 warp / 237 fill lb | 10 yr exterior | Exterior solar-control fabric |
| ★ | SunTex 90 | 31% polyester / 69% vinyl on polyester | — | — | 16.5 oz/yd²; 0.035" thick; approx. 10% openness; approx. 90% UV blockage; breaking strength 378 warp / 276 fill lb | 10 yr exterior | Exterior solar-control fabric |
| ★ | Solar Insect Screening | 37% fiberglass / 63% vinyl on fiberglass | 20 × 30 | — | — | 10 yr exterior | Manufacturer states that it stops up to 65% of heat and glare; reviewed page is window-oriented |
Sources: Phifer current product pages; Phiferglass Insect Screen V25; Expanded View V25 dated May 2025; Phifer-vs.-Import V25 dated June 2025; PetScreen V25 dated January 2025; Phifer screening FAQ and terminology guide. All checked July 24, 2026.
Table 4 — Saint-Gobain ADFORS pool, patio, fine-insect, pet, and privacy products#
| Tier | Product | Material as published | Count | Yarn | Warranty | Widths | Published detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ★ | Pool & Patio | Heavy-duty fiberglass mesh | 18 × 14 | 0.013" | No warranty field published | 36"–108" | For pool, patio, porch, sunroom, and larger-opening applications; GREENGUARD Gold |
| ◆ | Small Insect | Conflict: narrative says fiberglass; benefit bullet says PVC-coated polyester | 20 × 20 | 0.013" | 10 yr limited on Ready Rolls | 36"–108" | Manufacturer states that the product is tested using ASTM D3656; GREENGUARD Gold |
| ◆ | Pool & Patio Plus (P3) | Hybrid: part polyester and part fiberglass | 18 × 14 on current page and FAQ; 17 × 14 on June 2026 ONYX sheet | 0.013" and 0.018", axes not mapped | 7 yr limited | 36"–108" | No opening calculation because count conflicts and yarn diameters are not assigned to axes |
| ★ | Pet Resistant | Heavy-duty PVC-coated polyester | 14 × 10 | 0.025" | 10 yr limited on Ready Rolls | 36"–84" | Page cites ASTM D3656, ASTM D6413, and ISO 11925-2; numeric results and editions are not stated |
| ★ | Pool & Patio Premium Polyester (P4) | High-density polyester | 17 × 14 and 17 × 20 | 0.017" | 10 yr limited | 36"–156" | Positioned for expansive and panoramic openings |
| ★ | Florida Glass | Laminated fiberglass screen | — | — | No warranty field published | — | Positioned for the lower enclosure area from chair rail to deck |
Sources: ADFORS current product pages for Pool & Patio, Small Insect, P3, Pet Resistant, P4, and Florida Glass; official June 2026 ONYX Pool & Patio and P4 sell sheets. All checked July 24, 2026.
Table 5 — Super Screen pool, tiny-insect, no-see-um, and pet products#
| Tier | Product | Material as published | Count | Yarn | Published manufacturer test data | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ★ | 17/14 Pool & Patio | Base fiber not stated on reviewed page | 17 × 14 | — | 6.5 oz/yd²; strip tensile 171.51 warp / 162.29 fill lbf; tear 50.97 / 55.67 lbf; ball burst 182 lb — against the manufacturer's conventional-fiberglass comparator at 4.5 oz/yd², 78.8 / 54.2, 14.0 / 9.9, and 61 | 10 yr limited |
| ★ | 17/20 Tiny Insect | Base fiber not stated on reviewed page | 17 × 20 | — | UV-resistant technology claimed; no numeric technical table published on the reviewed page | 10 yr limited |
| ★ | 20/20 No-See-Um | Advanced coated fiber; base composition not stated in reviewed technical table | 20.0 ± 0.5 × 20.0 ± 0.5 | — | ASTM D5035-11 strip tensile 204.7 / 210 lbf; manufacturer-labeled ASTM D2261-13 tear 58.73 / 57.2 lbf; ASTM G154-06, 1,200 hr with no discoloration; ASTM G21-96, no growth; ASTM D3787 ball burst 250 lbf | 10 yr limited |
| ★ | Super Pet Guard 15/12 | 1,000-denier polyester with extruded PVC coating; 30% PES / 70% PVC | 15 × 12 | 0.025" | 0.0335" thick; 14.32 oz/yd²; ASTM D5035-11 strip tensile 475.6 / 357.5 lbf; manufacturer-labeled ASTM D2261-13 tear 163.7 / 173.6 lbf; ASTM D3787 ball burst 436 lbf; all reported results are from a single sample | 10 yr limited |
Sources: Super Screen current product and technical pages for 17/14 Pool & Patio, 17/20 Tiny Insect, 20/20 No-See-Um, and 15/12 Super Pet Guard. Every test value is manufacturer-published; none is represented as a neutral third-party comparison. All checked July 24, 2026.
Which official-source conflicts remain?#
Small Insect material. The current ADFORS Small Insect page calls the product "tighter fiberglass mesh" in its narrative and "durable PVC coated polyester screen mesh" in its benefit bullets. Both statements were live on July 24, 2026. The dataset preserves the conflict instead of selecting one material.
P3 mesh count. ADFORS's current P3 product page lists 18 × 14 and its FAQ says the construction remains 18 × 14. ADFORS's official June 2026 ONYX Pool & Patio sell sheet lists P3 as 17 × 14. The dataset preserves both values and does not calculate P3 geometry.
Dataset downloads#
- ↓ Download the 20-row CSV dataset (pool-screen-mesh-types-specifications-2026-07-24.csv)
- ↓ Download the matching JSON dataset (pool-screen-mesh-types-specifications-2026-07-24.json)
Both files use the same 31 fields:
dataset_version · verification_tier · manufacturer · product · product_category
material_as_published · mesh_warp · mesh_fill · yarn_diameter_in · second_yarn_diameter_in
fabric_thickness_in · weight_as_published · openness_pct_published · uv_blockage_pct_published
nominal_opening_warp_in · nominal_opening_fill_in · nominal_aperture_sq_in · nominal_open_area_pct
calculation_status · test_method · test_value · test_unit · sample_qualifier
warranty_term · placement_restriction · manufacturer_claim · conflict_note
source_title · source_url · source_document_date · source_checked_dateWhat does this data show — and what does it not show?#
This dataset establishes nominal opening geometry for six constructions with complete primary-source inputs, records the manufacturer warranty term or absence of a published term for all 20 products, and documents where Florida's code changes screen-surface pressure treatment by mesh density. Each consequential field is traceable to a dated source or to a printed calculation.
It does not order the products from best to worst. No neutral cross-brand laboratory comparison was located in this source review; manufacturer tests use different methods, comparators, specimens, labels, and reporting conventions. The dataset also does not publish a service-life prediction or an airflow percentage because the reviewed primary sources do not supply comparable evidence for either.
How was this dataset built?#
The source set was collected and checked on one date so every published field has the same verification snapshot. The page separates primary-source facts, official-source conflicts, and calculations rather than blending them into one confidence level.
What we collected, and from where. Product fields came from current manufacturer pages and manufacturer-hosted PDFs from Phifer, Saint-Gobain ADFORS, and Super Screen. Regulatory material came from the current 8th Edition (2023) Florida Building Code, the 2025 Supplement, Chapter 515 of the Florida Statutes, and Florida Building Commission change material. Entomology came from UF/IFAS EENY-349 / IN626. Standard titles and current editions came from ASTM and ISO. The material-price series came from the seller that published the prices, Wholesale Screens & Glass.
Dates. All online sources were checked July 24, 2026. All calculations were performed July 24, 2026. Where a manufacturer PDF carries an issue month or version, that document date is recorded separately from the check date.
What we did with contractor articles, retailer guides, and forums. They were reviewed only for reader language and source discovery. No contractor or general retailer technical claim appears as a verified product specification. The single price table uses a seller as the primary producer of its own posted list prices and identifies the seller, product, date, and limits of the sample.
How fields were handled. Published units and qualifiers were retained. Missing fields were labeled as not published rather than inferred from a similarly named product. Manufacturer comparisons remain attributed to the manufacturer. "Ready Rolls," "limited warranty," "approximately," and "single sample" remain attached to the values they qualify.
How official conflicts were handled. A conflict receives the ◆ tier only when two current materials from the same manufacturer disagree. Both values and both source URLs remain in the visible page and download.
How calculations were done. Nominal opening geometry was calculated only where a primary source published mesh count and a single yarn diameter that could be applied to both axes. P3 was excluded because the count conflicts and the two yarn diameters are not mapped. P4's two published constructions were calculated separately.
How the standards were checked. The current ASTM listing for the product-category specification is ASTM D3656/D3656M-25, updated January 29, 2026. Manufacturer pages sometimes cite a designation without an edition or publish an older test edition; this page reports the manufacturer's edition as used and the current standards-listing edition separately.
Quality control. The CSV and JSON were generated from the same 20-record source table. Every downloaded row contains its source title, URL, document date where available, and July 24, 2026 check date. The visible "Last verified" date changes only after the source set is rechecked.
Does mesh type change wind load in Florida?#
Yes. Table 2002.4 of the current Florida Building Code, Building, 8th Edition (2023), ties its screen-surface pressures to a defined mesh construction rather than treating every fabric alike.
The table pressures apply to 20 × 20 × 0.013-inch screen. Note f permits a 0.88 multiplier for 18 × 14 × 0.013-inch screen and directs screen densities greater than the 20 × 20 × 0.013-inch baseline to use pressures for enclosed buildings.
Table 6 — What the Florida code says about mesh, and what follows#
| Code provision or calculation | Value | What follows |
|---|---|---|
| Mesh to which Table 2002.4 pressures apply | 20 × 20 × 0.013" | This is the table's stated screen baseline |
| Adjustment for 18 × 14 × 0.013" | Screen-surface pressures × 0.88 | The table permits lower screen-surface pressure for that exact construction |
| Screen density greater than 20 × 20 × 0.013" | Use pressures for enclosed buildings | The instruction is triggered by construction density, not by a marketing category or an openness percentage |
| Unadjusted 20 × 20 pressure versus adjusted 18 × 14 pressure | 1 ÷ 0.88 = 1.136, or about 13.6% higher | Calculated from note f |
| Vertical pressure on solid surfaces versus screen surfaces | 3.43× to 4.25× across all 21 wind-speed-and-exposure entries | Calculated from the published vertical-pressure columns |
| Nominal open-area fraction, 20 × 20 versus 18 × 14 at 0.013" yarn | 54.76% ÷ 62.66% = 0.874 | Numerically close to the code's 0.88 multiplier; no claim is made about how the code factor was derived |
| Design wind-speed category used by §2002.4 | Risk Category I | The screen-enclosure table is not a substitute for the dwelling's separate design criteria |
| Alternative design method in §2002.7 | Allows designated screen panels to be removed, retracted, opened, or cut in the engineered design | Applies only to walls and roofs that are 100% screen and requires project engineering to identify the panels |
| Wind trigger under the §2002.7 screen-removal alternate | Designated panels are removed or retracted, or designated screen is completely cut, when forecast wind speeds exceed 75 mph | This duty exists only where that alternate is part of the approved design |
Source: Florida Building Code, Building, 8th Edition (2023), §2002.4, Table 2002.4 and note f, and §2002.7. The 2025 Supplement to the 8th Edition does not amend §2002.4. Code text and calculations checked July 24, 2026.
The 0.874 result is numerically close to the code's 0.88 factor. That agreement is a useful arithmetic cross-check, but the source record reviewed here does not establish that nominal open-area geometry was the derivation used by the code writers.
Whether a particular enclosure can accept a different fabric is determined from the applicable code, approved design, permit file, product information, framing, connections, spans, and site conditions. A mesh specification table cannot establish the capacity of an existing structure.
Which mesh actually stops no-see-ums?#
UF/IFAS draws the category line directly: regular window screens do not exclude biting midges, while the openings in no-see-um screening are small enough to exclude them. The verified geometry explains the direction of the trade-off without turning body length into a universal pass/fail threshold.
Adult biting midges are typically 1.0 to 2.0 millimeters long, with an average of about 1.5 millimeters across the roughly 50 species occurring in Florida. Standard 18 × 14 × 0.013-inch mesh calculates to openings of 1.081 by 1.484 millimeters, while 20 × 20 × 0.013-inch mesh calculates to 0.940 by 0.940 millimeter.
Three additional UF/IFAS findings matter in Florida:
- Habitat is local. UF/IFAS identifies salt-marsh and mangrove species and reports that tree-hole species are most common in the Panhandle and north-central Florida.
- Distance is limited protection. Many species disperse about two kilometers, or roughly 1.2 miles; UF/IFAS reports longer recorded distances for Culicoides variipennis and C. mohave.
- The category is not an absolute guarantee. Phifer describes its fine-insect products as stopping most small insects, and the reviewed sources do not publish a universal opening threshold that excludes every Florida biting-midge species under every installation condition.
The defensible conclusion is category-level: ordinary screen and no-see-um screen are not interchangeable for biting midges. The source record does not support turning one nominal aperture into a guarantee for every species, coating, tension, damaged panel, or installed enclosure.
What do "three times stronger" claims mean?#
A strength multiple means little unless the source identifies the baseline, method, units, direction, specimen preparation, and sample count. The primary sources reviewed here range from a complete manufacturer-controlled comparison table to a bare multiplier with no underlying protocol.
TuffScreen's current page says it is three times stronger than "standard fiberglass" but does not identify the comparator or test. Super Screen publishes its selected conventional-fiberglass comparator and numeric test categories; Phifer publishes a separate 18 × 14 table but gives no units or method.
Table 7 — Verified manufacturer strength claims and the evidence behind them#
| Claim or value | Publisher | Baseline named? | Method or standard named? | Underlying number published? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pool-and-patio fiberglass core yarn is 50% stronger than window-screen yarn | Phifer FAQ and Phifer-vs.-Import sheet | Yes — Phifer window screen | No | Yes: 170 / 125 versus 104 / 90; units not stated |
| TuffScreen is 3× stronger than standard fiberglass | Phifer TuffScreen page | "Standard fiberglass" only | No | No |
| Super Screen 17/14 versus conventional fiberglass | Super Screen | Yes — manufacturer's conventional-fiberglass comparator | Test categories named; no ASTM designation on the reviewed comparison | Yes: tensile, tear, weight, and ball-burst table |
| Super Screen 20/20 ball burst | Super Screen | Not applicable | ASTM D3787 | 250 lbf |
| Super Pet Guard ball burst | Super Screen | Not applicable | ASTM D3787 | 436 lbf, with an explicit single-sample qualifier |
| Imported 18 × 14 is heavier but lower in Phifer's strength fields | Phifer-vs.-Import sheet | Yes — Phifer 18 × 14, Phifer window screen, and an unnamed import | No | Yes: weight 5.4 versus 4.6; strength 88 / 85 versus 170 / 125; units not stated |
Sources: Phifer screening FAQ, Phifer TuffScreen page, Phifer-vs.-Import V25 sheet, and Super Screen current product and technical pages. All values are manufacturer-published and were checked July 24, 2026.
They do not create a cross-brand leaderboard. Phifer's 170 warp figure and Super Screen's 171.51-pound-force warp figure are numerically close, but Phifer states neither units nor method, so the values cannot be treated as equivalent measurements. Super Screen's Super Pet Guard results also carry a single-sample qualifier that must remain attached to every quoted figure.
What do pool screen warranties actually cover?#
Warranty terms are dated manufacturer commitments, not measured service life. The current primary sources produce a clear warranty table, but they do not support the unsourced lifespan ranges commonly repeated in comparison articles.
A missing warranty field means only that the reviewed page or sheet did not publish one. It does not establish that no warranty exists elsewhere in a sales agreement or product-specific warranty document.
Table 8 — Published warranty terms and placement restrictions#
| Product | Published warranty | Scope qualifier | Placement restriction in reviewed source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Phifer 18 × 14 Pool & Patio | 3 yr | Expanded View V25 sheet | — |
| Phifer 20 × 20 No-See-Um | Not published | — | — |
| Phifer TuffScreen | 10 yr | Current product page and Expanded View sheet | — |
| Phifer TuffScreen No-See-Um | 10 yr | Current product page and Expanded View sheet | — |
| Phifer PetScreen | Not published | — | Patios, porches, windows, and doors are the stated applications |
| Phifer BetterVue Pool & Patio | Not published | — | — |
| Phifer SunTex 80 / 90 | 10 yr exterior | Current product page | Exterior solar-screen and shade applications |
| Phifer Solar Insect Screening | 10 yr exterior | Current product page | Reviewed page is window-oriented |
| Phifer Glas-Shield | Not published | — | Not roofing material and not for horizontal applications |
| ADFORS Pool & Patio | No warranty field published | — | — |
| ADFORS Small Insect | 10 yr limited | On Ready Rolls | — |
| ADFORS P3 | 7 yr limited | Current page and ONYX sheet | — |
| ADFORS Pet Resistant | 10 yr limited | On Ready Rolls | — |
| ADFORS P4 | 10 yr limited | Current page and June 2026 sheet | — |
| ADFORS Florida Glass | No warranty field published | — | Lower enclosure, chair rail to deck |
| Super Screen 17/14, 17/20, 20/20, and 15/12 | 10 yr limited | Current product pages | — |
Sources: current Phifer, ADFORS, and Super Screen pages and manufacturer-hosted sheets listed in the source section. Checked July 24, 2026.
The verified correction is straightforward: Phifer's current Expanded View sheet lists three years, not five, for its 18 × 14 Pool & Patio product. TuffScreen and TuffScreen No-See-Um carry 10-year terms in the same sheet; ADFORS P3 carries seven years; and the reviewed ADFORS Pool & Patio page carries no warranty field.
Which standards govern insect screening and the tests in this dataset?#
ASTM D3656/D3656M is the product-category specification cited by ADFORS for insect screen, and its current edition is D3656/D3656M-25, updated January 29, 2026. The Super Screen technical tables cite older editions of several methods, which is normal for a test report but must not be mistaken for the current edition of the standard.
One manufacturer-label conflict also matters: Super Screen labels its ASTM D2261-13 values "Tear Strength (Trapezoidal)," while ASTM's official D2261 title is a tongue, or single-rip, tear procedure. This page preserves the manufacturer's label and identifies the mismatch instead of silently renaming the result.
Table 9 — Standards named in the reviewed primary sources#
| Standard | Current official subject or edition checked July 24, 2026 | How it appears in this dataset |
|---|---|---|
| ASTM D3656/D3656M-25 | Specification for insect screening and louver cloth woven from vinyl-coated glass yarns | ADFORS Small Insect and Pet Resistant cite D3656 without an edition |
| ASTM D5035-11(2024) | Breaking force and elongation of textile fabrics by the strip method | Super Screen cites ASTM D5035-11 |
| ASTM D2261-13(2024) | Tearing strength of fabrics by the tongue, or single-rip, procedure | Super Screen cites D2261-13 but labels the result "Trapezoidal" |
| ASTM D3787-16(2020) | Bursting strength of textiles by the ball-burst method | Super Screen 20/20 and Super Pet Guard |
| ASTM G154-23 | Fluorescent-UV exposure of nonmetallic materials | Super Screen cites G154-06 |
| ASTM G21-15(2021)e1 | Resistance of synthetic polymeric materials to fungi | Super Screen cites G21-96 |
| ASTM D6413/D6413M-22 | Flame resistance of textiles by the vertical test | ADFORS Pet Resistant cites D6413 without an edition |
| ISO 11925-2:2026 | Ignitability of products subjected to direct impingement of flame, Part 2 | ADFORS Pet Resistant cites ISO 11925-2 without an edition |
| ASTM F2286-16(2023) | Removable mesh fencing for swimming pools, hot tubs, and spas | Referenced in Florida Building Commission 8th Edition change material for mesh safety barriers |
Sources: ASTM and ISO official standard pages plus the manufacturer pages that cite each designation. Numeric requirement tables inside paid standards are not reproduced here.
Is pool screen mesh a pool safety barrier?#
Not by material label alone. Florida's barrier rules regulate the barrier system — its height, openings, gates, location, and ability to obstruct unsupervised access — rather than declaring ordinary insect-screen fabric to be a safety barrier by itself.
The 8th Edition (2023) Florida Residential Code allows qualifying dwelling or nondwelling walls, including screen enclosures, to serve as part or all of the required barrier when the applicable barrier provisions are met. Florida Building Commission change material separately references ASTM F2286 for mesh safety barriers.
Florida Statutes §515.29 requires an outdoor residential pool barrier to be at least four feet high on the outside and to have no gap, opening, indentation, protrusion, or structural component that could allow a young child to crawl under, squeeze through, or climb over it. The code supplies additional details for openings and gates.
The current City of Lake Mary codifier text gives one local mesh-specific example: it requires pool and screen-enclosure mesh to be no smaller than 20 × 20 and no larger than 18 × 14 and requires design computations and details with the plans. That verified ordinance demonstrates that local text can constrain mesh count; it is not evidence that every Florida municipality has the same rule.
What did one seller list for 18 × 14 pool screen material per square foot?#
At Wholesale Screens & Glass on July 24, 2026, charcoal 18 × 14 fiberglass Pool & Patio list pricing remained $0.315 per square foot from 24-inch through 84-inch rolls, then stepped to about $0.413 at 96 inches and $0.578 at 108 inches. The 108-inch material carried an 83.3 percent per-square-foot premium over the 24-to-84-inch rate at that seller on that date.
This is a seller-specific material-price series, not a market average, installed price, labor estimate, or promise that the posted prices remain current after the verification date.
Table 10 — Posted 18 × 14 charcoal material price by roll width, one seller, July 24, 2026#
| Roll width and length | Roll area (sq ft) | Posted list price | Calculated price per sq ft |
|---|---|---|---|
| 24" × 100' | 200 | $63.00 | $0.315 |
| 36" × 100' | 300 | $94.50 | $0.315 |
| 48" × 100' | 400 | $126.00 | $0.315 |
| 60" × 100' | 500 | $157.50 | $0.315 |
| 72" × 100' | 600 | $189.00 | $0.315 |
| 84" × 100' | 700 | $220.50 | $0.315 |
| 96" × 100' | 800 | $330.75 | $0.413 |
| 108" × 100' | 900 | $519.75 | $0.578 |
Source: Wholesale Screens & Glass, "18x14 Standard Mesh Fiberglass," charcoal material-only list prices collected July 24, 2026, before shipping. Per-square-foot values were calculated by Panama City Pool Screen Repair Research.
The width step matters because panoramic and picture-window panels can require unusually wide rolls. Applying the narrow-roll rate to a 108-inch requirement would understate this seller's posted material price by about 45.4 percent of the actual 108-inch rate.
Which mesh type fits which enclosure job?#
The verified data supports a job-to-category map, not one universal winner. The decisive checks are the published construction and yarn, the intended placement, the available width, the enclosure design, and the evidence behind any performance claim.
Table 11 — Job, evidence-supported category, and first verification check#
| Job | Category supported by the published data | What to verify before selecting |
|---|---|---|
| General insect screening and relatively open view | 17 × 14 or 18 × 14 standard pool-and-patio mesh | Yarn diameter, available width, panel span, and the construction used in the approved enclosure design |
| Small biting insects | 17 × 20 or 20 × 20 fine-insect mesh | Count and yarn diameter together, intended insect category, and code pressure treatment for the exact construction |
| Dogs, children, or high-contact lower panels | Pet-resistant or heavy-duty screen | Do not assume it is finer: the verified 14 × 10 × 0.025-inch pet product has larger openings than 18 × 14 × 0.013-inch screen |
| Wide or panoramic panels | A product published for expansive openings in the needed width | Manufacturer width range, framing and spline compatibility, and the wide-roll material-price step |
| Lower-panel privacy and debris control | Laminated screen in the placement permitted by the manufacturer | Phifer Glas-Shield's vertical-only restriction and the exact construction used in the enclosure design |
| Heat and glare reduction | Solar-control fabric | Published application, openness, actual mesh construction where available, and code treatment based on that construction — not on openness alone |
| Several competing needs | Mixed mesh by zone | Compatibility of every fabric and confirmation that the approved design accounts for each installed screen type |
Sources: the 20-product specification dataset, opening-geometry table, Florida Building Code Table 2002.4 note f, and ADFORS's current enclosure-customization guidance. Checked July 24, 2026.
Why is the mesh question different in Florida and the Panhandle?#
Florida writes exact mesh construction into its aluminum screen-enclosure pressure table, and UF/IFAS places the state's greatest biting-midge diversity in its northern half. Those two facts make the mesh question simultaneously structural and entomological in the Panhandle.
Panama City is the Bay County seat on St. Andrews Bay. That coastal setting makes the UF/IFAS discussion of coastal biting-midge habitat locally relevant, but it does not produce a county abundance number.
No authoritative Bay County dataset measuring biting-midge prevalence or abundance by county was located, so this page publishes no county comparison. The 8th Edition (2023) Florida Building Code remained the effective edition on July 24, 2026. Florida's published work plan placed the 9th Edition (2026) effective date on December 31, 2026, after this dataset's verification date.
How can installed mesh be identified?#
Mesh count can be observed directly; brand and yarn diameter usually cannot. Phifer's FAQ describes counting the openings along two perpendicular one-inch edges to identify a construction such as 18 × 16.
For pre-installation brand verification, Phifer publishes its own packaging and selvage markers: its fiberglass pool screen is wrapped in brown paper and uses tan-only or tan-and-red yarns near the edge. Those markers are a manufacturer identification method, not an independent quality certification.
The checkable conclusions are limited: mesh count can be counted, packaging and selvage can identify the Phifer markers described by Phifer, and roll labels or technical sheets can establish the exact product before installation. Appearance and roll weight alone do not establish strength.
What are the limitations of this page and dataset?#
The dataset is a dated specification and calculation record, not a laboratory certification or project-specific engineering analysis.
- Mesh count is not hole size. It does not establish opening geometry, airflow, visibility, strength, or insect exclusion without yarn diameter, material, coating, and weave information.
- Calculated nominal geometry is not a measurement. Coating build-up, crimp, deformation, installation tension, damage, and manufacturing tolerance can change finished openings.
- Nominal geometric open area is not manufacturer-published openness or airflow. The reviewed primary sources do not provide a directly comparable measured field for the six calculated constructions.
- Manufacturer tests are not a neutral cross-brand laboratory study. Methods, editions, specimens, controls, directions, units, and sample counts differ; Super Pet Guard's reported results are explicitly from one sample.
- Warranty length is not service life. A warranty is a contractual term subject to its own coverage and exclusions.
- Installed performance is a system property. Frame, span, spline, tension, anchorage, workmanship, exposure, maintenance, and impact damage are outside a fabric-only table.
- A mesh product test is not a whole-enclosure rating. BetterVue's 100 mph FBC 100-95 product test does not establish the structural capacity of an assembled enclosure.
- Insect screen is not automatically a pool-safety barrier. Barrier compliance depends on the complete system and the applicable code.
- Two ADFORS fields conflict across current official sources. Small Insect material and P3 mesh count remain disclosed as conflicts.
- The price table is one seller on one date. It is not an industry average, installed cost, or price forecast.
- Product specifications and code editions can change. Every figure carries a July 24, 2026 source-check date so later revisions can be identified.
Which fields were not published by the reviewed primary sources?#
The dataset leaves fields empty when the reviewed primary source does not publish them.
- Mesh counts for Phifer TuffScreen, TuffScreen No-See-Um, PetScreen, BetterVue Pool & Patio, SunTex 80, or SunTex 90.
- Yarn diameters for Phifer 20 × 20 No-See-Um, TuffScreen, TuffScreen No-See-Um, PetScreen, BetterVue, SunTex 80/90, or Solar Insect Screening.
- Mesh count or yarn diameter for ADFORS Florida Glass.
- A mapping of ADFORS P3's 0.013-inch and 0.018-inch yarns to the two weave directions.
- Yarn diameters for Super Screen 17/14, 17/20, or 20/20.
- Base-fiber composition for the reviewed Super Screen 17/14, 17/20, and 20/20 pages.
- A warranty field on the reviewed ADFORS Pool & Patio or Florida Glass pages.
- A warranty field on the reviewed Phifer 20 × 20, Glas-Shield, PetScreen, or BetterVue pages.
- Units and a test method for Phifer's V25 weight-and-strength comparison table.
- A neutral, directly comparable airflow dataset for the 20 products.
- A neutral cross-brand strength ordering.
- A primary-source service-life dataset, in installed years, for any mesh category.
- A universal opening size that excludes every biting-midge species in every installed condition.
- A Bay County biting-midge prevalence or abundance measurement.
- A parcel-specific Bay County design wind speed applicable to every property.
- A statewide count of Florida municipalities with mesh-size provisions; this review verified one current codifier example.
What are the most common pool screen mesh questions?#
These answers restate the page's most requested comparisons without adding new evidence. Each answer remains tied to the verified construction, source qualifier, or code provision that supports it.
What is the standard mesh for a pool enclosure?
What does 18 × 14 screen mean?
What is the difference between 18 × 14 and 20 × 20 screen?
Which mesh keeps out no-see-ums?
Does no-see-um mesh reduce airflow?
Is polyester stronger than fiberglass?
Can pet screen cover an entire pool cage?
What is Florida glass?
Can laminated privacy screen go on a pool cage roof?
Does changing mesh affect the enclosure's engineering?
Is pool screen mesh a pool safety barrier?
How should this page be cited?#
The details below are a neutral attribution reference. They do not request a citation or link and do not impose a required format.
How to cite this page
- Publication:
- Panama City Pool Screen Repair Research
- Page title:
- Pool Screen Mesh Types: Specifications, Opening Data, and Code Limits
- URL:
- https://panamacitypoolscreenrepair.com/research/pool-screen-mesh-types/
- Last verified:
- July 24, 2026
- Dataset version:
- 2026-07-24
Example reference:
Panama City Pool Screen Repair Research. "Pool Screen Mesh Types:
Specifications, Opening Data, and Code Limits." Last verified July 24, 2026.Which primary sources support this page?#
The list below contains the code, statute, university-extension publication, current manufacturer pages and manufacturer-hosted sheets, standards listings, the city-linked local codifier text, and the seller page used for the dated price series. Technical product fields were not taken from contractor articles or general retailer descriptions.
Florida code, statute, and local context
- Florida Building Code, Building, 8th Edition (2023), Chapter 20 Aluminum, including §2002.4, Table 2002.4, note f, and §2002.7: codes.iccsafe.org/content/FLBC2023P1/chapter-20-aluminum
- 2025 Supplement to the 8th Edition (2023) Florida Building Code, Building: floridabuilding.org (PDF)
- Florida Building Code, Residential, 8th Edition (2023), Chapter 3 Building Planning: codes.iccsafe.org/content/FLRC2023P1/chapter-3-building-planning
- Florida Building Code, Residential, 8th Edition (2023), Chapter 45 Private Swimming Pools: codes.iccsafe.org/content/FLRC2023P1/chapter-45-private-swimming-pools
- Florida Statutes §515.29, Residential swimming pool barrier requirements: flsenate.gov §515.29
- Florida Building Commission, Analysis of Changes for the 8th Edition (2023) Florida Building Code, Building: floridabuilding.org (PDF)
- Florida Building Commission, June 2026 work plan for the 9th Edition (2026): floridabuilding.org (PDF)
- City of Lake Mary Code of Ordinances and codifier text for swimming pools and screen enclosures: lakemaryfl.com · codelibrary.amlegal.com
- Bay County, Florida context: baycountyfl.gov
Entomology
- Burkett-Cadena, N.D., V.M. Cooper, C. Addae, and E.A. Buckner. "Biting Midges, No-See-Ums Culicoides spp." UF/IFAS EENY-349 / IN626, revised September 2025: ask.ifas.ufl.edu/publication/IN626
Saint-Gobain ADFORS
- Pool & Patio Insect Screen: adfors.com
- Small Insect Screen: adfors.com
- Pool & Patio Plus (P3): adfors.com
- Pool & Patio ONYX Sell Sheet, June 2026: adfors.com (PDF)
- Pet Resistant Insect Screen: adfors.com
- Pool & Patio Premium Polyester (P4): adfors.com
- P4 ONYX Sell Sheet, June 2026: adfors.com (PDF)
- Florida Glass Insect Screen: adfors.com
Phifer
- 18 × 14 Pool & Patio Screen: phifer.com
- No-See-Um Screening (20 × 20): phifer.com
- TuffScreen: phifer.com
- TuffScreen No-See-Um: phifer.com
- PetScreen: phifer.com
- PetScreen swatch card V25, January 2025: phifer.com (PDF)
- BetterVue Pool & Patio: phifer.com
- Glas-Shield: phifer.com
- Solar Insect Screening: phifer.com
- SunTex 80/90: phifer.com
- Screening FAQ: phifer.com/screening/faq/
- "Understanding Window Screen Terms": phifer.com
- Phiferglass Insect Screen catalog sheet V25: phifer.com (PDF)
- Expanded View Pool & Patio sheet V25, May 2025: phifer.com (PDF)
- Phifer-vs.-Import sheet V25, June 2025: phifer.com (PDF)
Super Screen
- 17/14 Mesh Pool & Patio: super-screen.com
- 17/20 Mesh Tiny Insect: super-screen.com
- 20/20 No-See-Um Screen: super-screen.com
- 15/12 Mesh Super Pet Guard: super-screen.com
Standards
- ASTM D3656/D3656M-25: store.astm.org
- ASTM D5035-11(2024): store.astm.org
- ASTM D2261-13(2024): store.astm.org
- ASTM D3787-16(2020): store.astm.org
- ASTM G154-23: store.astm.org
- ASTM G21-15(2021)e1: store.astm.org
- ASTM D6413/D6413M-22: store.astm.org
- ASTM F2286-16(2023): store.astm.org
- ISO 11925-2:2026: iso.org
Dated seller price source
- Wholesale Screens & Glass, "18x14 Standard Mesh Fiberglass": wholesalescreensandglass.com
All sources were checked July 24, 2026. A source's document issue date and the date this page checked it are separate fields in the downloadable dataset.
Last verified: July 24, 2026 · Dataset version: 2026-07-24
Published by Panama City Pool Screen Repair Research, the independent research and reference section of panamacitypoolscreenrepair.com.
Related reference: Research index
What changed in this dataset?#
The change log records field-level additions and corrections rather than merely replacing the visible date. Version 2026-07-24 is the initial public dataset snapshot and the baseline for later comparisons.
2026-07-24 — Version 2026-07-24
• Built a 20-product specification dataset across Phifer, Saint-Gobain
ADFORS, and Super Screen.
• Calculated six verified construction rows, including both published
ADFORS P4 constructions.
• Recorded the Florida Building Code Table 2002.4 note f provisions,
the 0.88 pressure factor, the 13.6% inverse comparison, and the
corrected 54.76% ÷ 62.66% = 0.874 open-area ratio.
• Recorded the live ADFORS Small Insect material conflict.
• Recorded the live ADFORS P3 18 × 14 versus June 2026 ONYX
17 × 14 count conflict.
• Removed secondary-source-only yarn, mesh-count, openness, burst,
and geometry fields from manufacturer records.
• Updated ASTM D3656/D3656M to the active -25 edition and disclosed
the ASTM D2261 tongue-tear title conflict with Super Screen's
manufacturer label.
• Published the actual 20-row CSV and matching JSON distributions.
• Published the one-seller 18 × 14 material-price series and the
83.3% 108-inch width premium.